Posted by: Brad Stanford | December 28, 2014

What I Want In 2015

As I type this, I’m sitting in the sound booth at church, waiting on a funeral to begin.

The year has been amazing. I’ve just had one of the best weeks with my family I’ve ever had. Good friends that I haven’t seen in a long time visited last night, and we had a great time. I’m rested. I have clarity and focus about the next year.

It’s all good.

This past week, though was not all good for a local family just a couple of miles from me. Their sixteen year old boy passed away for reasons unknown to me. So far, there is no report of foul play, and it appears to be a medical issues at this point.

The details aren’t as important as the result, though. A family lost their very loved son. A school lost a good friend. A community lost a good person. And I look at my own family knowing it might have been my own teenaged son, and that I would not have a compartment for that.

It’s difficult to  have a happy holiday knowing that not everyone can be happy. But here’s what I’ve learned: exist in your realm while you can. And if you’re in someone else’s world, do what they need. Here’s why: Only you can experience God’s story as you. He made you to exist through this set of circumstances. Trust Him about that.

Secondly, if you’re with someone who is mourning, mourn with them, without concern for how it might affect your own life. And you can trust God with that, too.

Let me rephrase that for clarity’s sake: Whatever circumstance you find yourself in, trust God with it. Go through your stuff, and go through stuff with others. This life is difficult, but it’s quite short. God knows what He’s doing.

Trust. Do what He says. Demonstrate how He loves.

He has promised that all things will be converted to good for those who do that.

That’s what I want for 2015.

Leave a Reply

Categories

